Leaves of Perfection, Click the Quote:)

1 Oct

When I say – in my writings – that the present is perfect, I am not being metaphorical.  I mean this in the most literal sense.  Each and every moment of my live, your life, anyone’s life is all that it can be, and, therefore, is the best that it can be at any given point in time.  I am, of course, not the first mind to have this sentiment.

Here’s Walt Whitman for you, in his Leaves of Grass:

‘And I will show that there is no imperfection in the present, and can be none in the future…

by: Pavel G. Somov Ph.D

In the mid 1800’s Whitman published his book “Leaves of Grass.”  I like the poem “That Shadow My Likeness.” Poetry is the glimpse of inner workings of the soul and the mind – the parts of self that counselors and psychologists seek to understand.  The shadow in Whitman’s poem reminds me of the personas/masks that we take on, deny, and embody in our daily interactions.

Leave a Reply

