Skinner Behavioral Psychology and Reinforcement

30 Sep

Posted by bpolnariev on youtube, this video talks about general behavioral psychology and reinforcement to modify behavior.

Behavioral psychology utilizes reinforcements/punishments to change habits over time and formulate new habits.  Previously, I mentioned that I got a new puppy for companionship and to help me with my morning routine.  I’m not a morning person.  Having the added responsibility of waking up to let the dog out each morning has turned into a routine.  It will be interesting to see if the change is long-lasting, but this morning I did get up at 5:30 without hitting my alarm 10 times…a miracle for me 🙂

One Response to “Skinner Behavioral Psychology and Reinforcement”

  1. BetaSheep October 1, 2010 at 4:09 PM #

    Despite all claims to the contrary, I am not a rat in a box. My behavior is shaped by my prior experience, as well as the evolution of my species. My behavior is also shaped and arrived at by my language, which is a level of abstraction that no other animal possesses. It allows me to store information for retrieval at a later date. At such later date, I may use this information to arrive at the conclusion that what these behaviorists were trying to teach me was a bunch of hooey. I am sorry. I am not a blank slate.

Leave a Reply

