Character and Wellbeing in Relation to Perception

29 Sep

Park, Peterson and Seligman (2004) found that the characteristics that correlated “most strongly and consistently” with life satisfaction were hope, zest, gratitude, curiosity, and love.  “Gratitude connects one happily to the past, and hope connects one happily to the future” (Park, 2004).  Past experiences create self-perception.  Rogers’ view of patterns of experience would say that these experiences were positive and that gratitude is a result of those patterns (Pervin, 2005).  Furthermore having a self-image of positive correlation related to past experiences creates the environment for hope.  Hope is reinforced by past ability to overcome or cope positively with life.

(Excerpt by L.Lavergne, 2010, Capella University)

In other words, perception can shape reality.  Change your perception and you change your reality.  It sounds easy, but each of us is “stuck” in our own views/perceptions of life/people/events/and personal potential.  What are some things you struggle with and feel you can not change?

I’ve never been a morning person and have always struggled with the fact that I waste hours in the A.M. trying to get up for school/work/house chores etc… I’ve always felt I would accomplish more, be more relaxed, etc. if I could wake up earlier without a problem.  So how did I change this deeply ingrained habit?  I got a puppy.  Trust me, when that 5-6am howling wake up call comes b/c puppy needs to go O.U.T.  … well u get up.  This is the end of my 1st week with the puppy, and I’ve gotten up 2hours earlier than usual every day without hitting the snooze.  I found that my trigger is responsibility.  If there’s something I “have” to do, I get up and do it.  So I increase my personal responsibility.  Yippy for a creative (I guess you’d call it behavioral) therapeutic approach.  To change my perception, I had to add something for me to perceive.

(Now to see if the results/change are long-lasting or merely short-term improvement!)

References:

Park, Nansook, Peterson, Christopher, & Seligman, Martin E P. (2004). STRENGTHS OF CHARACTER AND WELL-BEING. Journal of Social and Clinical Psychology, 23(5), 603-619.  Retrieved May 24, 2010, from ProQuest Psychology Journals. (Document ID: 737635361).

Pervin, L. A., Cervone, D., & John, O. P. (2005). COUN5214: Theories of personality [Custom]. New York: Wiley.

Leave a Reply

